It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society.

People believe that the mass media is more and more substantial which influences our lives, making us be inevitably affected to awareness and activities, and this has been gaining the public’s attention. However, every coin has its two sides and this issue is not an exception. In my opinion, it is undeniable that not only does the media bring the metal values for humans, but it also contains detrimental effects.

There are many reasons why the increase of mass media is existing disadvantageous impacts to people. Firstly, the media appears everywhere such as on television, newspapers, social networking sites, and so on. However, almost news has a tendency regarding sensational news and negative headlines to grab the public’s attentions, the overuse of media could make people bored and be bothered. Furthermore, some fake news from unscrupulous reporters cause dramatic mistakes in society about a certainly famous person or organization. Therefore, it is likely to raise critical reviews in the majority of audiences, which influences the other lives leading to terminate their life. Secondly, the advertisement or films on the media are likely to make the youth addicted. This means that the young people spend a lot of time constantly staring at the screen of the smartphone or TV during their dinner time or even all day. As a consequence, it is more and more significant increasing percentage of diseases about eyes, obesity, and diabetes in the world.

Nevertheless, the development of mass media also brings positive things in our lives. If people use the media like a powerful tool to convey inspiring life messages and influence viewers to have positive living attitudes, individuals will feel the advantageous things that they need to experience rather than drawbacks. Next, it is true that parents are able to sensor what children watch to deteriorate negative impacts to their behaviour in future. In terms of education, stories mentioned great achievements of humans will, to certain extent, motivate both children and adults to study and discover the world, and these are able to be approached through the beneficial sources of documentary series on television.

In conclusion, obviously people could not blame on the media with negative information that they received, due to individuals are able to completely filter what they want to watch and absorb. Therefore, things belonging to publicity covered both bright sides and dark sides, and so does the media.