It is better for college students to live far away from home than living at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

There is currently a contentious argument over whether undergraduate students are better to live far away from their hometown than staying at home with their mother and father. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion because living alone not only gives them opportunities to have new experiences but also helps them become more independent.

First and foremost, studying abroad or living in a place far from home can gives students chances to enrich their life experience. Moving to a different place is mean that students have to open up more to adapt to adjustments like make new friends, greet with the neighbourhood, have new relationships. Also, living alone is quite convenient for students as well, because they do not need to ask parents for permission and become more flexible in timing and living conditions. For instance, the result from a national survey in Vietnam showed that 75% of Vietnamese students said that their purpose to study abroad is not only to pursue a better education program but also to gain more chances to learn about other country’s culture and have new experiences.

Another reason why I support the notion that college students should live far away from their homes is living without mom and dad can let them start to live an independent life. Because parents always have a profound impact on their children so when students need to take care of themselves, it can help them to be more responsible with their life. They have to do all the household chores without their parents’ assistant like cleaning the house, mopping the floor or doing the laundry. So enhancing numerous soft skills is a possible consequence.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, I strongly believe that there are many benefits that students can gain from living far away from their hometown and their parents.