Most world's problems are caused by over-population. To what extent do you agree of disagree>

There exists an opinion that over-population is the main culprit of the majority of problems over the world. From my personal perspective, I completely agree with this school of thought for several reasons.

One vexing problem worth mentioning is the shortage of accommodation in many major cities worldwide, especially in the densely populated areas in the city center. The primary cause of such an issue is the enormous number of migrants from rural regions and immigrants from foreign countries moving to these cities in search of better jobs or for higher education. Despite the fact that some authorities try launching strict laws to prohibit this phenomenon, the population shows no sign of decrease and thus, accommodation facilities are not built enough to satisfy people’s demand. For example, Beijing and Ho Chi Minh are two well-known cities where government has put much effort to combat overcrowding issue but fall to gain satisfactory result.

Another matter is the pollution and traffic congestion affecting negatively citizens on both their health and quality of life. It is obvious that the huge amount of toxic gases such as carbon dioxide or methane releases into the atmosphere from the industrial production process and means of transport is the main cause of air pollution. This leads to the fact that compared with less populated regions, people live in densely populated areas have a higher rate of suffering from health-related problems. In addition, dwellers also complain about the worse condition of traffic as it stagnates to the fluency and efficiency of their work and study. In rush time, for instance, people tend to be stuck in traffic jam for numerous hours due to the massive number of vehicles pouring out the road.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that over-population triggers many above-mentioned issues. Therefore, actions should be taken to slow down the population growth all over the world.