It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Whilst some believe that the quality of a child's performance in a subject indicates whether they are talented, I think that skills, such as a sport or music, are acquisitive, and dividing children into talented and untalented is not fair.

On the one hand, there is a conventional assumption that children are born with talents. This is because it is often observed that some children carry better performance at school than others, so their parents and teachers may conclude that he/she has a genuine talent. This statement stems from the fact that a certain child has not had any special training. Therefore, acting in an educated way indicates some kind of pure talent. For instance, a teacher astonished by a five-year-old understanding of music and rhyme implies an exceptional aptitude.

However, it is true that different skills can be fostered, and not everything is about talent. This proves that children learn about their abilities and how to improve them through education. This can be achieved by passionate, thoughtful teachers who put a great amount of effort into training their students. In my opinion, each skill requires a set of techniques to be done that can be acquired. Hence, grouping children into genius and ingenious is discriminative and offensive. For example, a child who was born into a wealthy family has various opportunities to learn about different subjects. In contrast, one might not be able to afford to provide all sorts of education for their child.

In conclusion, although some argue that people are born with certain gifts, I assume that it is dishonest to segregate gifted children from others as skills are attainable by accurate training and caring teachers.