More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

In this contemporary world, well-known types of cars, fashionable items, and other items are increasingly wanted. This trend happens due to some reasons, and I believe that this development has several drawbacks.

To begin with, there are some factors leading to the fact that many people put famous product items on their wish lists. Firstly, as personal incomes in some countries have been raised significantly, people might have much more money to spend on buying well-known products which are usually expensive. For example, ten years ago, most people in Asia could not afford to buy Apple’s smart mobile devices such as iPad or iPhone which are owned easily at the moment. Secondly, since most people have access to the Internet, they have more information about brands. As a result, they might want to have those latest-trend and high-quality products. For example, even German brands of cars such as Mercedes and BMW are obviously expensive, many Malaysian are owning them because they are ranked top international car table.

Besides, there are many reasons why the trend of desiring valuable items bring some disadvantages. First, as most of these are considered as money-consuming items, some people might be lack of money for their accommodation. For example, many Japanese people have loans of banks in order to buy an Italian Audi car, which leads to hard-working for many years to pay off.

Furthermore, as people are increasingly buying items which they do not really need, it is a massive waste of money. For instance, a Kevin Klein t-shirt might cost USD 100 for people in Indonesia to buy, while they can spend about USD 15 only for a similar one which is local.

In conclusion, there are many causes of people’s desires to have famous items, and it seems to me that this trend brings many disadvantages.