It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on

people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that governments should focus on their citizens instead of helping others from foreign countries. While it is true that the authorities should support their residents, I believe it is also possible to help people from other nations.

To begin with, there are several reasons why governments should give priority to their own people. Firstly, as people pay taxes for their nations, they deserve good public services. Therefore, governments should spend budget on improving those services to give a better living condition to their citizens. Secondly, investing more in their own people leads to wealthier countries. For example, the authorities invest more in education to have a well-educated workforce, which contributes to making a competitive labor market.

However, I would argue that we can also assist people all over the world. First, there are still many poor countries which are in need of help. For example, the GDP of Bangladesh is one-fiftieth of the US and 30% of its residents do not have enough food. If rich countries are not willing to help the poor countries, many people could die due to lack of food. Furthermore, helping people also can earn respect from others. For instance, the US is respected by people around the world as this country is donating a big amount of money to help financially disadvantaged countries.

In conclusion, while local people need to be focused by their governments, I support the view that people from other parts of the world also needed to be helped.