It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

The development of consciousness of children from an early stage is rather critical. This skill, however, is linked to the ability to distinguish between the matter of right and wrong. With proper time and suitable educating efforts which excludes the punishment from parents, children can acquire this vital ability.

I strongly against the ideal of applying punishment with children at any cost. Harsh punishments not only might entail the negative consequences unintended by the parents but also might cause adverse mental effects to a minor. The minor who suffered severe punishment from an early age will likely have mental disorder in the future. Besides, some strict disciplines employed by certain fathers might be abusive to the youngster, as well as violate the children protection law.

Initially, in order to help a kid aware of the disparity between right and wrong, teachers and parents should be a good role model in daily life, which may involve carefully adjusting the ordinary behaviors. And, if sanctions are in needed, then physical punishments are not allowed, as the child will memorize this as an possible action for bullying. Nor should the punishment involve relentless actions.

There are other light punishments that teachers and parents can choose to discipline the minor, namely, detention and withdrawal of hobbies or games. Let them take the claims for the mistakes and fix those themself is a brilliant ways to teach children. In such a way, kids experience a sense of guilt along with a responsibility to carry the issue.