It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviours to children?

Children should be taught which actions or behaviors are acceptable at a young age. I partly agree that punishment is the way that parents should choose to educate their children and corporal punishment is one of my choices.

Corporal punishment may be a good way of discipling as it is used to draw a line when certain actions become unacceptable. In case that the children might be futile when scolding happens so frequently. So physical punishment is far more painful that makes the children know the intolerable feelings after doing some certain unallowed actions. That feeling is also etched in their memory which makes them scared to relapse. It also helps them to distinguish which actions or behaviors they should do and should avoid.

But there are some consequences, it may create the environment of resentment and mistrust relationship between the children and their parents or teachers. And as they are too young to fully understand the parents do that to indicate the right and wrong things for them. As a result, they may behave worst and commit some juvenile delinquencies. There is another bad result that the children who are raised up by scolding or punishment may not be fully developed in their mental and physical progress.

With all the aforementioned reasons, punishment is essential to teach the children about this distinction, but punishment should not be misused to avoid such unexpected results.