It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion What sort of punishment should parents and t

Educating children by various sorts of punishment is causing growing concern. It is believed that juveniles should be trained to distinguish between right and wrong from the early stages of life. Thus, disciplinary penalties should be imposed directly on them to emphasize the mistake they made. In my view, both mental and physical punishments in some ways are unnecessary to raise a child’s awareness for those reasons.

To begin with, there is no point in punishing children to help them make a distinction between right and wrong due to their immaturity. At an early age, hardly do children understand their false beliefs nor activities on the grounds of not being mature enough. Children are full of curiosity, which leads to some wrongdoings on a regular basis. Therefore, punishing them is not optimal as preteens are not capable of comprehending their falsehood. In some Asian countries, for example, physical punishments are used as a prevalent method both at educational institutions and at home. However, the juveniles still have a tendency to imitate the misbehaviours since they could not figure out why the way they act is out of discipline.

On the other hand, harsh punishments might pose a threat to the children’s mental heaths. There is no denying that disciplinary penalties trigger psychological disorders. The more adults consider punishment as an efficient way of education, the more frustrated their children may be. When children are bombarded with harsh physical and mental punishment, they are more likely to face depression and anxiety. For these reasons, an alternative way of education has to be taken into consideration. Adults should prevent preteens from such poor attitudes by showing them the detriments of those activities and explaining the rooted reasons for these prohibited activities. Sorts of a suitable punishment for them could be silent treatment. When juveniles behave badly, it is necessary to isolate them. Being put in a solitary environment, it may strike to them that they have done something against the good merits.

To conclude, punishment is essential to help children learn the distinction between right and wrong. However, the way of imposing it on preteens is much more important. Other methods ought to be taken into account to make them realize the faults and fix them.