Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There is an increasingly growing popular idea that it is a global sports occurrence that benefits a region, while others claim that it is not worth holding such significant event in a country. Both sides have, of course, their merits but I firmly belive that the first view is more valid and my reasons for saying so are presented below.

First and foremost, it is notable that having hosted an international occurrence, the country may become a household name, more renowned than ever by appearing on mass media and social network, especially on some top-notch journalism brands, such as The New York Times and The Guardians, which coincidentally promotes the country’s images. Only when this massive event is occured are a number of products endorsed, which is considered as a jump in the economy when they soon become a phenomenon, accumulating profits and attracting investors. The Olympics taken place in Japan could be an obvious example due to its success in 2020, drawing every nation’s attention.

On the other hand, there is no denying that so extravagant is the event that the host is burdened with enormous debts. Not only does financial issue naturally occur, but it is the antisocial behaviour that are also triggered during this festive occassion because some criminals take advantages of the sports event to organize gambling and pickpocketing activities in a large scale. To shed light on this problem, only after holdingThe Olympics did Egypt has to spend billions and even have a huge debt preparing it due to their belief in some profits this international sports event would bring. However, it can still be argued that the problems relating to money can be dealt with by the continental sponsorships and cooperations.

In conclusion, to a certain extend, it is true that hosting a multinational occassion triggers social and financial issues, in my perspective, the merits still have a great impact on economy, which signifies the other side.