It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion. What sorts of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviors to children?

Right and wrong are the conventional notions that sometimes even adults can not make a thorough clarification between them. Therefore, some people believe that teaching those differences become a crucial obligation of parents and school during the children’s education process, especially at an early age, and punishments sometimes are needed. From my point of view, I agree with this opinion and I think there are more measures to help children besides punishment.

In the first period of life, learning the right and wrong distinctions will play an important role in making children become good people. Children seem to easily listen to their parents or teachers and obey what they’ve said. Moreover, children are under their parents’ wings, in other words, they are protected whenever in endangered situations, so early nurturing them in this stage will be safer. The long time they mediate about right and wrong, the more understanding they will gain.

Children always fear punishment, hence, this will be a supportive method for education. Parents and teachers can correct them slightly such as doing several household chores, doing gardening, or being blamed. If they are stubborn children, heavy punishments are allowed to teach them. Usually, parents will intend to be angry and the child automatically feels ashamed of their behaviors. Besides giving punishment, traveling and making good friends are other measures to gradually change their behaviors.

In conclusion, educating children at an early age about right and wrong will help them become useful citizens, and the role of punishment is significantly important to teach good behaviors.