It is important for children to learn the differences between right and wrong at an early age. punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviors to children.

It is argued that punishment is necessary to enable children learn the differences between what is right and wrong, and knowing this right from a tender age is vital for their upbringing.This essay agrees that discipline has to be enforced on children beginning from an early age of life and also discuss that parents and teachers can employ any form of discipline on them.

Disciplining is an important tool for children upbringing.This is why teaching them from infancy what it means to be ethical and unethical is relevant,as there are some benefits linked to it. Firstly, children learn fast, they pick-up some behaviours whether good or bad from a very tender age, hence the need for the application of punishment during this period. For example, a 3 year old African child who constantly disrespect those older than him, if he is not punished and made to understand at that age that disrespecting an elder is wrong, he will grow up with the attitude and think that it is a normal thing afterall. When a child remembers that he or she was punished for an inappropriate conduct, the child will desist from engaging in anything the parent frowns at. Another point is that, a child at a tender age, tends to pay more attention to details and learns how to obey instructions than when they are older. This means that, this child will always avoid anything that will lead to him or her being punished. So,as children continue to grow into adulthood, punishment should be used to instill proper morals.

Just as parents will in cooperate punishment on their wards, teachers can do the same as well. Parent can punish them by flogging for any misbehaviour. However, some people might argue against it, but i think taking a disciplinary action such as corporal punishment is not illegal in this part of the world. A case in point is African mothers, who usually have canes in their homes for punishing stubborn and arrogant children who wants to go astray. School also have a system of what they do to student with misconduct. Most schools in western world can give detention, extra class work or even send students for community services as a form of punishment.

In conclusion, I agree that disciplining children from when they are still tender is very crucial in helping them to differentiate between what is good and bad. Also parents and teachers can employ corporal punishments on school children with bad attitudes.