Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case, and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is true that local people in some countries do not visit museums and historical places which are usually favorite destinations of tourists. There are several causes of this phenomenon, and some effective solutions should be proposed to improve this situation.

To begin with, the low rate of local residents going to museums and historical places is caused by several factors. Firstly, since most people think that they know clearly about the history of their country, they are not interested in going to those places. This leads to the fact that most people prefer traveling abroad to visiting those spots. Secondly, citizens are not likely to pay an amount of money for entrance tickets of those places because the prices are usually high. For example, in Tokyo, people need to pay JPY 10000 for the entrance fee of an art museum, and this is not reasonable to most Japanese.

Several actions need to be taken to increase the number of local citizens visiting places of exhibitions and historical areas. The first solution would be to promote art and historical values. This can be done by launching a big advertising campaign on television or the Internet to raise public awareness of those values. Additionally, citizen discount tickets at those sites could help increase the number of local visitors. Finally, the authorities could offer free tours to local schools so they can go to those sites as extracurricular activities.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why local people are not interested in visiting museums and historical sites, and governments and individuals should come up early with solutions to this problem.