It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We

can just learn much from books, films and the Internet. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that instead of traveling to other countries to learn about new cultures, they can do it by reading books, watching films or surfing the Internet. While it is true that books, films, and the Internet provide a massive source of information, I believe we need to travel to other countries to learn more about their cultures.

To begin with, print, digital and Internet media help us to discover cultures all over the world.

Firstly, with high-quality media in this modern world, most cultures have been recorded and shared effectively. For example, Discovery Channel, which is a well-known TV program for the last twenty years, has been broadcasting more than 200 cultural episodes. Secondly, learning from those kinds of media could help us save money. If we spend money to travel to a foreign country, we might need to work hard for a long time for the preparation of the trip.

However, I would argue that we still need to go to new countries to have a better understanding of their cultures. First, there are knowledge and experiences which are gained by traveling only. For instance, most foreign students in the UK faced culture shocks even they had prepared well for studying abroad. Furthermore, interacting with local people is important to explore their culture. If we only learn about new countries via books, films, and information on the Internet, we would not have the chance to socialize with the local residents.

In conclusion, books, videos and other information sources from the Internet offer a great amount of useful information, I support the view that traveling to other places is a must to understand deeply new cultures.