It is more important for the government to spend public funds on promoting a healthy lifestyle than treatment.

In recent decades, the world health care system has been facing consecutive outbreaks of diseases. With the thought that an ounce of prevent is worth a pound of cure, some people believe that governments should spend more money improving citizens’ awareness about healthy lifestyle rather than treatment. In my viewpoint, I strongly agree with this statement.

First of all, Concentrating budgets on the prevention of diseases will bring more economic benefits than researching a cure when an epidemic has broken out. When there is an epidemic outbreak, the government will face budgetary pressure for health services such as medical examination and treatment, testing, and quarantine. In addition, leaders must also deal with the overload of infected patients and the shortage of vaccines. For instance, the Ebola pandemic created a terrible health crisis in West African countries, resulting in thousands of deaths.

Moreover, the outbreaks of dangerous pandemics not only cost healthcare services but also severely affect the economy and slow down or even reduce economic growth. By way of illustration, the COVID-19 pandemic caused millions of people to lose jobs in the USA, many businesses have come to a standstill due to social distancing, and the economy will shrink by about 37% in 2020. Therefore, the precaution of infectious diseases could reduce their spread in the community, thereby avoiding their negative effects on the economy.

In conclusion, the outbreak of any disease is unpredictable and able to lead to many difficult-to-solve issues. For this reason, governments should pay more attention to making a healthy lifestyle for citizens to avoid the severe effects of a disease rather than researching the cure.