In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Thanks to the development of technologies such as computers, the Internet and smartphones, the majority of people are beginning to work from home rather than go to their workplace like in the past. In my opinion, it brings both negative and positive aspects of this new development.

To start with, the advantages of working from home via computers or smartphones help staff save time and money. Since they do not have to go to work, which saves moving from home to work. Moreover, needing to travel to go to their workplace helps them reduce transportation fees so that they can save money. What is more, working from home is very convenient and comfortable, they can arrange their work time and can work anywhere they want. For instance, they can choose the time they work and can spend time on supporting their family.

Besides the benefits of working at home it also brings some disadvantages for employees that they cannot solve important problems immediately. They have to work online through computers or smartphones, hence, they cannot face to face meetings to exchange the issues. All of these issues usually have to send an email and must wait for the manager to consider giving a solution so as to solve it, which takes much time. Working in a group is similar as well, they cannot support each other. Furthermore, working at home meets some problems such as distraction by space and some factors around.

In conclusion, the development of technologies and the Internet help people to work online through computers or smartphones, which is very convenient. However, it has some drawbacks of solving essential problems as well.