Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s modern society, consumerism has become more popular. Many individuals are concerned about what they consume rather than the degradation of their living environment. It is argued that most people do not give much care to environment-related issues as they deserve. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this statement for the reasons I outline below.

First of all, humans just concern about things that have effects on their lives directly. Because environmental problems have not had a certain effect on changing their lives, many people think that protecting the environment is not yet a top priority for them. By way of illustration, farmers living in Vietnamese rural areas are being affected by climate change and water pollution. However, because these impacts do not change too much to their daily life, they continue to throw household waste into rivers and canals and burn large amounts of coal and fossil fuels.

Besides, many people believe that environmental protection is not the responsibility of each individual, but environmental organizations and the government take care of it. Although many people know the effects of environmental pollution and its causes, they still consume lots of goods and energy from transportation every day, especially disposable products, and believe that waste treatment and air problems are the responsibility of the government and environmental organizations. For instance, in many cities in Vietnam, there are millions of tons of garbage discharged from households, mainly plastic bottles, and nylon bags.

To conclude, although the majority of the population does not give environmental issues attention enough, they have been affecting negatively our life at any rate. We should give priority to solving them and take action together to protect our environment.