It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public budgets have been allocated to various tasks to ensure people’s life quality. Regarding maintaining public health, it is suggested that spending the money on promoting healthier lifestyles is more impactful than treating the ill. I disagree with this viewpoint because both tasks are equally important.

On one hand, highlighting the necessity of a healthy lifestyle is more of a proactive approach to preventing illnesses. First and foremost, this appears to be a more sustainable, long-term strategy because an overall healthy body is an important precursor to not only reducing disease contraction but also recovering from existing ones. For instance, those who exercise regularly are less likely to fall sick and typically regain their health faster than their less active counterparts. What is more, there are terminal ailments that cannot be decisively cured, such as HIV or certain types of cancer. Financing efforts to treat these diseases, consequently, could be viewed as a drain on the national budget.

On the other hand, it is equally important to allocate enough resources to facilitate patients’ treatment. Firstly, as people pay taxes and insurance, they deserve to be taken care of when they are sick and require financial support to cover the expense of their treatment. Withdrawing this benefit is likely to breed resentment among members of the public. Also, despite efforts to lead a balanced and active life, there are medical urgencies that are unpreventable, especially diseases that are related to new viruses, bacteria as well as unexpected injuries. Oftentimes, these situations justifiably necessitate the use of available resources. Lastly, while there are indeed incurable ailments, investing in clinical research and practices in search of effective treatments ultimately benefits everyone, as aside from finding the possible cure, the process yields other innovations in the field of medicines as well as other disciplines, as exemplified by the advent of more complicated and precise tools for surgeries.

On a balanced, it is in my conviction that preventing and curing illness is equally crucial. While encouraging a healthy lifestyle is more proactive, it should not be prioritized over treating those who are affected by diseases and injuries.