Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In this day and age, English is being regarded as a pivotal school subject and even receiving more focus than the indigenous languages. However, unless these local languages are kept being conveyed and educated, many of them will no longer be in existence. As far as I am concerned, despite the significant benefits of learning English, the local ones still need to be preserved in some ways.

On the one hand, regarding the vitality of acquiring English skills, it is indisputable that English certainly helps enhance global connection. To state that, as the world is becoming more and more internationally connected, English has been rising as a crucial language that is ubiquitously used in daily life and business. Therefore, teaching English at schools is the following effect to get into the swing of the modern world. Moreover, English plays an important role in terms of promotion and job acceptance for individuals. As can widely be seen, international organizations now require workers to be at least bilingual, with English being sealed as compulsory criteria to consider. In addition, having a good command of English can help workers to function properly without any language barriers, which increases their chance of promotion.

However, it is not to eliminate the urgent need to preserve the local languages. Even though these languages may not be universally used around the globe, we should protect them so as to maintain the diversity and variations of cultural heritages. To do that, a number of approaches can be taken seriously. First and foremost, the indigenous language should be taught in schools as an imperative subject within the basic curriculum, This ensures children’s regular interactions with the languages, making it impossible for students to get rid of them. Moreover, local authorities need to increase the usage of the languages through cultural events and traditional rituals, which contribute major differences to the frequency of indigenous languages being used.

To sum up, while the benefits of learning and teaching English in schools are out of the question, I still believe that the local languages deserve more attention from the public so as to maintain their survival.