Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Ever since the commencement of globalization, people from various cultures and ethnicity cannot avoid communicating with each other. Indeed, facilitation of such activity would not be possible if not for a common linking language such as English. In my opinion, one should learn and use both English and their native language depending on the ocassion.

Currently, in many schools across the world, students have been taught English owing to it’s importance in the global stage. For example, English has been the mode for mass communication in various fields such as in business, STEM, etc., Knowing this language helps an individual to express his opinions and feelings to a random person in an English speaking country. Further, soft skills has a major impact in shaping our career. It is hence, important for all to learn at least the basics of English until their secondary education. However, in such cases, people tend to not use their mother tongue frequently and thereby, they gradually fell out of touch with it. This has been a major issue when we learn English - although a foreign language, yet it is trivial in our daily life.

There are several ways to stick to our mother tongue while we learn and use an alien language, such that one can be a fluent bilingualist. This can be accomplished by the mutual contribution from parents,who can speak to their children in their mother tongue at home, while teachers ensure that children are exposed to English at school. In addition, regional government can also play a role in resolving such issues by creating awareness and holding essay competitions in the regional language across the state, especially in the urban, where English is highly used.

In conclusion, I believe that knowing English is highly recommended for smooth communication in official and business environments,on the other hand, we should not ignore our local language and must stick to our roots.