Learning English at school is often seen as important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the recent time, it is observed that schools are now emphasizing on learning english, rather than the regional language which may cause it to be extinct. In this essay, we will highlight why it is important to learn english and how to make sure the local language will survive.

English as a language should be taught to everyone in schools, it helps the person to communicate with the locals, who cannot talk unless they are aware of the regional language of that area. English has now become a universal language, thus making it easier to interact with people globally. Learning english will also help the local residents to boost tourism in that area. Tourist coming from across different parts of the world usually speaks in english, if a local guide knows english, that will only help in better communication with them.

While learning english as a language is important, we should not forget our regional language and must give an equal weightage, else the language will got extinct. The way we have given importance to english, we must make sure the same level of importance be given to learn local tongue. This can be done at the school level, where in special classes are made available for students who wishes to learn their mother tongue. The southern part of India, is a perfect example, where the local are still giving equal weightage to their mother tongue as well as to english language. This helps them and the people travelling to have a basic level of communication between eachother.

As we see that english is an important language to learn, so is the regional language and that can only be possible, if we give equal amount of importance to both the language.