LIFE FORMS IN OTHER PLANETS

Extraterrestrials, that may range from single-celled organisms to beings with a civilization far more advanced than humanity may exist on other planets of the universe. Scientists do not have any evidence to prove their existence to date. According to one camp of scientists, messages should be sent to those aliens to confirm their existence; however, the other camp expresses concerns about hailing the attention of alien civilizations. I would delve into both the views in this essay.

Due of overexploitation, the earth is slowly becoming uninhabitable, to begin with. In the true spirit of exploration, astrobiologists want to explore the space for the existence of advanced life forms which would be beneficial for us in the future. Cosmologists like Stephen hawking consider this advancement in the search of intelligent lives may get to a period in our future where we outgrow our evolutionary baggage. Furthermore, a search of extraterrestrial civilizations will make us not only technologically more proficient than we are, but more aware of the rarity and preciousness of life in the cosmos.

On the other hand, there are a plethora of risks in contacting extraterrestrials scientists currently have no idea what alien life-forms might look like, or how they might respond to contact from human civilization. Such advanced aliens would perhaps become nomads, looking to conquer and colonize whatever planets they could reach. We don't know much about aliens, but we know about humans. If we look at history, contact between humans and less intelligent organisms have often been violent and have gone badly for the less advanced. A civilization reading one of our messages could be billions of years ahead of us. If so, they will be vastly more powerful, and may not see us as any more valuable than we see bacteria.

In conclusion, even though I fear that an advanced alien civilization would have no problem wiping out the human race, the desire for the search for life beyond earth outgrows the risks and I strongly agree that it would give us a commitment to live. We are alive. We are intelligent. We must search for the signs of life in this universe.