Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I agree that there would be social problems and practical problems when many people live in a country where they have to use a foreign language, but the question is whether these problems are serious.

On the one hand, the problem would be insidious for ones who are not fluent in the language of the country they are living. Of course, for simple daily task such as go to grocery store, it could be solved simply with body language used. However, it is frustrated for them and others when they have to use the language, for more difficult communication situations at work, or understand dirty jokes or more serious conversation. As the result, they might struggle to socialise, then isolate themselves from local community. Perhaps, this could be done with international languages such as English, but it would be matter if they live in areas where these languages are less popular.

On the other hand, I do not see serious problem that ones with high ability to use the foreign language have to face. They can simply crack the local people’s jokes and fully understand such ‘jargons’ and slangs which seems to be only used by local people. They can successfully make comprehensive conversation at work, and comfortably socialise. They would be embarrassed with their misuse of their words or inaccurate pronunciation, but they have capability to cope with and clarify their messages.

In conclusion, I think that people with low level of using language will be struggled with the social and practical problems. However, with a higher level of language proficiency, these problems will be not complicated.