Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Several people believe that living overseas and speaking local languages can bring both practical and serious problems. Although many drawbacks can effortlessly be named, learning and working in different countries and adapting to native languages benefit to individuals more than what people could imagine.

It is true that people who earn their own livings in foreign territory have faced many threats ranging from daily life troubles to mental health diseases. In their daily life, misunderstanding in communication was commonly found in schools, workplaces or public areas. As non-native speakers, these people pronoun incorrectly or have strong accents creating difficulties in social interactions. Moreover, a number of students, who frequently hide or avoid not to attend public event or social activities, involve to isolated feeling and become more introverted. Consequently, they may suffer from mental health which is hard to cure in the long time.

However, I consider that speaking a foreign language doesn’t not wholly prevent people to engage with communities and become global citizen. Nowadays, a trend of studying aboard can be seen, in which students from developed countries are accepted and get into universities in developed countries. Besides, many executives choose to relocate job to fulfill their desires of travelling and living around the world. Languages is no more the main barrier for those who living or working abroad since many languages are studied and used by major citizens such as English, Chinese or Japanese. As education or working environment are more open-minded and emerge diversified culture, minor group of people no longer to be feel unequally or even discrimination. In fact, progressive teammate or co-workers consider non-native speaker are sources of broaden their knowledge about other cultures.

In conclusion, advantages of living and speaking another language outweigh its drawbacks. Therefore, I do not content that foreign language only brings problems to earning living people.