Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, thanks to modernization, people tend to work and study abroad for better living condition. However, some people argue that it can cause a huge of problems, even practical or social ones. And I definitely agree with this statement since I think this trend has both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that language is the connection between different cultures. In contrast, language can also cause serious disadvantages for immigrants, especially the new one. First, not being able to speak local language can affect their social communication and routine activities such as shopping or working. Secondly, it is problematic that crossing a new language to make friends and starting a living when coming to a foreign country becomes one of the most anxieties and other related problems can otherwise devastate to a person's mental health.

However, despite a large of negative problems, language might not be so serious and can be resolved through a long time studying and getting along well with this native environment. Furthermore, with modern technologies such as smartphones, laptops, the learning process is easier to overcome. Similarly, internet offers a variety of translating software, which helps immigrants reach new language confidently without time-consuming. Last but not least, it can be seen that environment of foreign might affect students, for example, students who choose to study abroad can master the native language faster than whom study in motherland.

In conclusion, foreign language affects us in some ways but in my opinion, at first time, it is more bewildering than convenient.