Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the omnipresent, attributable to modernization, working and studying abroad are gradually becoming more prominent. However, it is perceived to have severe consequences, both practically and socially. And I strongly agree with this statement considering that this trend has some drawbacks.

Undoubtedly, it is undeniable that language is the connection between diverse cultures. In contrast, language can also cause serious disadvantages for immigrants, especially the new ones. Firstly, not being able to speak local language can affect their social communication and routine activities such as shopping or working. For instance, it is problematic to cross a new language in order to make friends and start a live when one first came to a foreign country. Additionally, when combined with related problems, it becomes one of the biggest anxieties which can be devastating to one’s mental health.

Generally speaking, language problems might not be so serious and can be resolved through a long time studying and coping with the local environment. However, most immigrated students and workers do not have the adequate amount of time left to spend on studying after school and work. Lately, there are some advanced technologies like phones or the internet, and translating applications solely contributing to study a new language. Nevertheless, immigrants and international students cannot always afford to pay for those.

In conclusion, I certainly believe that living in foreign country and having to learn their native language can have some severe drawbacks which made the experience more bewildering than convenient.