Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that languages contribute a huge role to the way people communicate. While some people believe there are serious social and practical problems in living in a country where people must speak a foreign language, personally I partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, there are two evident benefits when one person living in a country has to speak a foreign language. One reason is that the person could be fluent in that foreign language as well as their mother tongue. Moreover, knowing more languages could lead to more knowledge. For instance, the majority of students who study overseas are bilingual and cultured. Furthermore, the must to speak foreign language might encourage people to interact and communicate with the natives of that language. Thereby, more and more social relationships are formed.

On the other hand, this event could cause numerous issues. Firstly, people who couldn't speak foreign language can't communicate at all. For example, elder immigrants found it difficult to learn new languages at their age which results in the incapability of communicating with the new community. Therefore, this phenomenon slowly forms the failure feelings for people. Moreover, the frequent use in both languages could sometimes cause mistakes by mixing languages accidentally.

In conclusion, for all the reasons I have mentioned above, it seems to me it is better to have one major language in a country and others can be used as optional or a must in limited and related fields