Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that severe social and practical problems can arise when one lives in a foreign country. I do not largely agree with this statement. Although living abroad can cause both of these problems, they are not so thorny and can be overcome.

Social problems are difficult to avoid when people live overseas, and one of them is the language barrier. If people do not have a good command of the native language of their host country, they might not be able to communicate with the locals. For example, exchange students could not discuss their schoolwork with their native classmates, or immigrated employees may fail to understand what their colleagues are talking about. These drawbacks can render immigrants make slow progress in their studies and work.

Practical problems would also stem from the inability to speak the language of the country in which people live. These can be the difficulty in understanding the foreign law system or being unable to ask for directions within a neighborhood or order food and beverages in a restaurant. Because of all these challenges, many people would consider the experience of living overseas uncomfortable and stressful.

Nevertheless, both social and practical problems are not so monumental, and they can be tackled by learning the native language properly. Specifically, before traveling to another nation, people need to attend language courses that specialize in speaking and listening skills, so that they would have little trouble in communicating with native citizens. With a solid linguistic foundation after completing these courses, travelers would be able to eliminate the language barrier and fluently exchange conversations with the locals to serve many purposes, such as education or employment.

In conclusion, I only agree with the statement to a moderate degree. While social and practical problems would encounter people when they settle down aboard, they are not as serious as people might think and can be dealt with by carefully studying the native language.