Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

there is no doubt that one of the most frequent problems that immigrants or visitors to other countries will encounter is the fact that they do not speak the same language. this problem could have some serious implications for their social life, and also their daily activities.

Firstly, the language barrier will make it harder for them to connect with the people of that country. The reason for this is that communication plays a crucial role in getting to know other people, and this vital ingredient is missing in the people who do not speak the same language as others do. For instance, if they want to make a new friend, they are not able to properly communicate their thoughts and ideas with the native speakers. Whereas if they were fluent in that language, the natives would have felt much closer to them.

Additionally, the ones that did not speak the same language as others also would have significant problems in their mundane activities and daily life. For example, they would not most likely be successful at finding a job because most jobs require the applicant to speak the formal language of the country. Furthermore, they would have some complications even in their interaction with people who provide them with a service, like a cashier at the store, not understanding what they want.

In conclusion, if someone goes to a country which they are not familiar with the language, they will have some social problems for communication with the people there, and also they may run into some practical problems like looking for a job or accommodating one’s need.