In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

People have different views about video cameras become commonplace in many cities to decrease offenders or limit individual privacy. While I accept that surveilance cameras is violation of privacy, I believe that using them to improve security is more productive.

The main reason why most people disagree with placing surveillance cameras in public areas is that these cameras invade their privacy. All images of each person's face, appearances, movements, and activities are recorded, sent to the security organizations and ready to be analyzed if necessary. For example, any person's activities such as walking on the street, driving to work and going out with friends will create a complete picture of each individual's private life, which we do not want to share with anyone. A large number of people think that privacy is a basic human right, and this right should be respected by everyone, even the government.

Despite the drawback above, I believe that using cameras in public places brings more benefits. The use of the-clock surveillance cameras greatly contributes to a safer society by reducing and even preventing crime. Through cameras, the security organization will keep a close watch on potential criminals and be able to detect unusual activities. As a result, crimes will be prevented before criminals commit them. Moreover, placing surveillance cameras makes people who intend to commit crimes, including amateurs and professional offenders, not dare to engage in unlawful activities because they understand that any activity is all watched. In addition, the videos extracted from public cameras also facilitate to find out criminals, investigate crimes and be a important evidence before the Court in criminal cases.

In conclusion, the benefits of installing video cameras in public places as security tools outweigh the drawbacks.