Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

Thanks to the development of technology nowadays, humans can do a variety of useful an important things without having to travel too far or paying too much costs. Especially, modern technology has allowed people to download and use various kinds of music and book copyrighted from websites on the Internet without any charge. In my point of view, I reckon that it is truly a positive and wonderful development for humans’ life. By that way, technology helps us save a significant amount of time and money as well as protect the environment.

To start with, downloading music and books from Internet websites is really helpful and efficient. This make us be able to enjoy a large storage of knowledge and entertainment and don’t need to move in far distances or splash out too much money for our learning as well as life enjoy. In the past, people have to travel from place to place to find their necessary books or buy a CD of their favorite band, which is time-consuming. Nowadays, all they have to do are staying at home, turning on their technical devices, searching on the Internet, and they can have a wonderful and adequate way for their studying and relaxing. During Covid-19 isolation, I have to study at home and don’t have chances to go out. Thanks to some useful websites and learning groups on the Internet, I have free e-books to practice IELTS as well as English podcasts, movies and music to help me ease my brain in my leisure time.

What’s more, ebooks or music which can be stored both online and offline can contribute to protecting the environment. They has reduced a huge volume of paper and polucarbonate plastic used for manufacturing books and CDs. The process of producing all these items also includes the participation of many chemicals, which are very polluted and do harm for the environment. When we are able to find almost our essential things in our own houses, we won’t have to go outside and use our means of transportation so that we help in reducing the amount of gas exhaust discharge to the environment. Again, in Covid-19 quarantine last year, when all people around the world had to work online and isolate at their home, using the Internet to help them be productive, it was reported that the atmosphere became more green and clear, global temperature also decreased, showing positive changes on the Earth.

To summarize, the modern technology which make copyrighted books and music available for individuals to download and use has proved exceptional aspects of its development thanks to its really useful function and positve impacts on human beings and environment.

All in all, the young people should put their genuine happiness above the unrealistic temptations as they still have a long way to go.