In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the problem of childhood obesity has become more and more serious in some nations. Whilst there is a school of thought that the government should be accountable for tackling this problem, I assume that this is also the obligation of parents.

To commence with, the government could diminish the number of overweight teenagers through certain effective ways. First and foremost, the national authorities should focus on educating children about the detrimental impacts of being obese. For instance, the national budget should be located for some healthcare programs on social media where nutrition experts would give young audiences detailed explanations about obesity’s harmful effects as well as measures to prevent this illness. In addition, the Government also could provide financial support for sports competitions to encourage adolescents to take part in sporty activities. As a result, spending time doing exercise or playing sports would make a significant contribution to the energy-burning process which lessens fat endanger.

However, the responsibility of preventing the young generation from being overweight cannot solely be the government’s onus since parents also play a vital role in forming a child’s healthy lifestyle and balanced eating habits. To be more specific, because it is parents who directly prepare daily meals for their offspring, parents’ knowledge about nutrition and eating routines partly impact teenagers' physical development. Indeed, if parents are keen on more fast food consumption, they are likely to let their children eat the same which results in the obesity problem. In addition, in the case of living with parents who rarely work out and do not take care of their children’s daily activities, teenagers have an inclination to be lazy and prefer less activation. In fact, there are many children spending the whole weekend in front of computers or television and this leads to fat bodies usually getting ill.

In conclusion, overweight illness is destroying many children’s health day by day in some countries. From my point of view, not only the Government but also parents should take action to deal with this issue.