In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects.

Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Tourism is becoming popular day by day whole over the world. There are many countries like Maldives, Srilanka, Indonesia, Italy are largely dependant on tourism economy. It is an ongoing debate that international tourism may provide benefit to national economy but it also negatively affects it socio economic situation. However, I beleive that tourism has more positive impact that take over the downsides. In the following writings, I will describe the rationale behind my opinion.

To begin with the positive sides, due to international tourism, people need to go through immigration administrative procedures, that generates a large amount of revenue to the national GDP. Moreover, it increases the employment opportunities in the immigration sector to handle the large number of foreiners that are intending to visit the resepctive country. Secondly, when foreingers come to spend some leisure time, they spend liquid money that helps to boost local economy. Additionally, this creates business opportunities for local people. In turn it reduces the unemployemnt in the local people. Thirdly, international tourism prompt the government to protect the local heritage and touristic places, which improves a country's profile and raises the recognition worldwide. For example, Indonesia is not a country that world recognize it as good country, but people know it due to Bali which is a famous place for tourism. More positive side to add that intenational tourism helps improving culture by sharing local culture to the interntional community.

Nevertheless, there are some negative sides like, it may affect national security which reduces the reputation of law enforcement agency. There are some repsorts like allowing more people to visit a place affect the local heritage and environment.

To sum up, even though there are negative sides but in respect to the benefit that a country achieve due to international tourism is ignorable. If government can take proper steps to control the downsides, international tourism will tremendously benefit a country.