In many countries paying for things, using a mobile phone (cellphone apps) is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In numerous countries, purchase-related activities like paying for stuff, using a variety of mobile applications are overwhelmingly becoming convenient. While I understand the drawbacks of this phenomenon, I believe that in this topic advantages outweigh drawbacks.

To begin with, when it comes to utilizing smartphones’ options, it reminds many senior citizenships who have severe difficulties with using the high-tech devices. According to the ILO’s report (International Labor Organization), 70 per cent of elderly people tend to set up their own retail stores and be occupied with their small businesses (such as local supermarkets). But the point is: due to the other survey (also carried out by ILO), 80 per cent of people over 65 has a trivial literacy in using smartphones (which are used for paying). As this age group comprise about 60 per cent of world population, expansion in using mobile apps seems to be a drawback at least for a large number of people around the world, who in the one hand are not familiar with using apps, and on the other hand, would like to spend their pension time with customers and talk about price changes and so on.

In spite of the fact I mentioned above, I believe that developing in using mobile apps for paying money has a host of advantages. First of all, it considerably shrinks the pickpocket, because there is no money in the pocket anymore for rubbering and phones all has strict security to open. To add on, people used to forget to take their wallets, but today finding someone who forget their phones is rare to happen. Obviously, cell phone is becoming a versatile devise among people and easy to use today for more different generation of people. Based on an article in Technology and People magazine, 80 per cent of individuals would like to learn how to use smart devices. Therefore, it seems that using apps would not remain as a problem for people any more.

To conclude, Nowadays, using mobile apps for paying for stuff is becoming common. Although there are some drawbacks for this subject, I personally believe that virtues outweigh disadvantages.