Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some people believe that new medicines and treatments can replace visiting a doctor. I personally argue that this is a wrong view and may cause negative consequences in the future.

Medicines and any new treatment methods that are not certified legally can cause severe impacts on users. When people have some health problems, they tend to try the quickest method to treat these issues, sometimes it is very dangerous to apply this drugs because there is no evidence about the effectiveness of it and related side effects. For example, headache and flu have some similar symptoms but if someone does not visit a doctor, and try some drugs at home, it is likely to misunderstand.

Furthermore, patients often are not ensured when they try alternative medicines and treatments. It is clear that when people try to cure themselfe, they have to accept all related problems. While we always have documents from doctors or medical staff to any illness that we have, trying alternative ones at home will not be guaranteed legally. Besides, these methods are applied based on trust and belief so it is difficult to deal with when a person has related problems. We have no right to require benefits for ourselve.

In conclusion, people with health problems who are trying instead methods rather than visiting their usual doctor may have a lot of problems related to their health, their rights when these methods turn out uneffective and bring severe consequences. It seems to me that this is a negative development that people should not try.