In many countries, the proportion of the older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend make positive or negative effects on society?

In many countries, a relatively new phenomenon of “ graying society”, which means the proportion of old people is ever-increasing, comes into being. This phenomenon has enjoyed increasing popularity, with both positive and negative outcomes. Form my perspective, this issue contributes to loads of bad effects.

The increasing number of elders tends to have a unfavorable influence on families. The key reason may root in the fact that the majority of seniors ma be physically fragile and vulnerable to various diseases, such as heart attacks and diabetics. As a result, much money has to be dedicated to curing their diseases and maintaining their health. One of the surveys conducted b a group in china found that the annual expenditure on fighting against diseases of the elder family members almost accounted for 40% of the total family income. There will be a considerable financial burden on their offspring, which arouses much pressure under the roof.

As well as the detrimental effects on families, the smaller entity of the community, the whole society will also be affected undesirably. The hunger proportion of the aging population means the shrinking number of work force. The gross domestic production will suffer a decline, which inevitably results in the recession in the economic field. In the long run, other social aspects are also doomed to degenerate. Moreover, government has to provide excessive pension and other welfare for the retired. For this reason, the administration must encounter overwhelmingly strong burden, thus unable to make sufficient investment in other social projects.

As analyzed above, population aging ma bring about many unfavorable results. It is urgent for us to think about the ways to reverse this unhappy social trend.