In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their friends and families.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

On account of the competitive job market, many people these days are pulled away from their hometown to seek prospects of employment. This social trend has both merits and demerits, and I totally believe that the downsides overshadow the benefits.

On the one hand, migrating far from home allows people to expand their relationship, which means it is a valuable chance to make friends with not only from their colleagues but also from their new neighbours. This is because, in order to get accustomed to the new accommodation, people have to be exposed to the surrounding society first, which helps them to become better acquainted with other people. As a result, their circle of friends will be widen.

On the other hand, the migration of labour also has some drawbacks. The first thing most people have to confront with is the financial burden. This is because, immigrant workers usually have to spend most of their salary on accommodation such as the rent money and utility bills, and other expenses. For example, many young employees who migrate from rural areas to urban areas suffer from the inflation in prices of housing, food or healthcare. Besides, while struggling with adjusting to the new environment, many people are under pressure from work, friends, fellows, especially homesickness. The reason for this is that they often feel loneliness and depressed as there is no one they can rely on. The long-term negative thoughts, in turn, pose a threat to there mental health, which can leads to problems such as anxiety and depression.

In a nutshell, while the movement of workers from one place to another has some undeniable benefits, I strongly contend that the demerits outweigh the merits.