Many employers believe that good social skills are as important as good qualifications to succeed in a job, so they are employing people who are with good social skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree

With the inexorable increase in the influx of graduates with bachelor's degrees, social skills have emerged as a topic of interest. It is sometimes argued that not only good qualifications but also good social skills are the main determinants of success. Personally, I totally agree that social skills are also at the core of life-work.

There are many compelling reasons why employers give precedence to people with good skills. Firstly, social skills such as communication skills and teamwork skills are attributed to life experiences, which are built up from old projects or vocational training courses. Therefore, people who have social skills would have the ability to solve problems more effectively than bachelor's degree holders without practical skills. Moreover, people with social skills would be easier to adapt to the jobs as well as the new environment.

Secondly, because of the influx of graduates, the labor market has become more competitive as it is, even for job seekers with qualifications. Therefore, employers would place heavy emphasis on practical skills more than the bachelor's degrees, which are less necessary since the growth of university enrollments

In conclusion, there is no doubt about good social skills are as foremost as good qualifications. It is clear that in the next few years, the value of qualifications will decline beside the increase of graduates.