In many families today, both parents are working. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Nowadays, gender differences are disappearing, and thus in many families both spouses are pursuing careers to fulfill their families’ needs. This essay will discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of this.

To begin with, if both parents are working, more income is generated. Therefore, families can have a good quality of living. In other words, they can afford nutritious food, reliable healthcare, and better education opportunities. They can also take a family vacation at any desired place without worrying about financial burden. Another plus point is that children can learn teamwork from this. Parents can take turns in doing household chores and teach children to do so. Accordingly, they will share equal and fair roles in their houses, thereby making children more independent.

However, working parents may lead to several negative consequences. First, when both of them are too busy at work, they may not be able to have sufficient quality time with their children. Consequently, the children tend to feel neglected and lack of affection and support. This may lead to children having low motivation in learning; as a result, their academic performance may be disrupted. Another drawback is that without enough parental supervision, children are likely to be involved in delinquency as a form of attention seeking, particularly if their surroundings and peers are influencing certain bad behaviors such as having addiction to games, smoking, and even taking drugs.

In conclusion, having dual income is certainly advantageous for families, since this can secure financial needs, and teach children to work collaboratively at home. Nevertheless, this may be disadvantageous when both parents are overworked, and they have limited time to take care and supervise their children, resulting in children being neglected and involved in immoral acts.