Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

In ancient times, when our precursors were hunters, we had to eat if that day was successful unless we had to fast all day. Nowadays, if you are hungry you are able to eat whatever you want because of convenience stories in every corner. Some people believe that numerous food factories make products which contained high sugar levels and its extremely harmful to our health so that government should put some control and add more prices on it. On the other hand, others think that it’s a personal choice and they have a right to consume that kind of product. In my opinion, the benefits of the former point of view outweigh those of the latter.

As a doctor, there is varies kind of disease due to consumed so much sugary food on their diets such as a diabetes type II, obesity and cardiovascular system disease. Especially, diabetes has been increasing in recent decades, I think it’s because people tend to overate sugary products. According to a study, sugar addiction is way more dangerous than morphine addiction. In 2019, nearly 28 percent of people had been recorded obese in the UK. Thus, the government should put a high tax on sugary products and make them more expensive.

Even though, some people think that it's individual problem. Because everyone doesn’t over-consume sugary products and caused them health problem so people have to be responsible to their own body. Also, if the government puts a high tax on that products, food industries will be feel pressure and cause a financial problem on the market. I think that is a personal choice how much you consume sugary foods on your daily diet.

To sum up, sugary food is dangerous that you can be addicted to and it’s caused not only bad effects on your health but also your economy. Obesity and diabetes are pressing an issue caused of high sugar levels. Hence, sugary food commercials should be banned and prices should be expensive so the government needs to be taken action.