many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit those places.

These days, museums and other historical landmarks have been crowded with foreign visitors, rather than attracting the attention of local inhabitants. I believe there are several possible reasons for this and also, some actions need to be taken to promptly promote these locations.

The reason most locals are not so interested in paying a visit to their local museum has many contributing factors. First and foremost, locals pay less attention to sites related to history due to the familiarity of values, folks and norms. Furthermore, the local people are extremely acquainted with the presence of the museums and historical sites within their area, they are also familiar with the old days of their country, therefore having a tendency to take them for granted. Above all, it is factual that these sites are annually appealing to over sea tourists, who are enthusiasts of discovering many traditional heritages, local history and, be it for knowledge or for their own curiosity.

Dealing with these obstacles constitute a real challenge, but not an impasse. One of the effective ways to address the attention and interest of people is to show them the importance and the availability of local museums along with cultural locations. As an example, media coverage and public-oriented shows can have a tremendous impact on providing a comprehensive view of local cultures and traditions so that they could become more engaging to indigenous residents. Besides, museums and other aesthetic institutions should stage periodic exhibitions to promote local cultures and thus preserve the beauty of historical art.

In conclusion, there is a range of reasons for local people being less interested in their own historical places, compare to their foreign counterpart. However, it is feasible to mitigate this problem, provided that local authorities and museum join hands in this process.