Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but no local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums and historical locations are generally drawn tourists when they first visiting despite the local people’s low attendance at these attractions. Some explanations will be put forward before solutions can be taken to tackle this problem.

There are a number of reasons why the local communities show no interest in museums or historic places. First, the local inhabitants might have been brought up in those areas and have had a good understanding of the history of their country, so they might find it unattractive to visit. As a result, such destinations are commonly more appealing to newcomers than to the locals. Moreover, people usually need to pay for a high entrance fee which prevents residents who want to come around frequently but living under difficult conditions. Even though it has a far less profound impact than the first cause mentioned, it discourages the locals to drop by.

Some measures can be prompted to promote the local’s attendance rate at buildings for historic relics and museums. In order to capture more attention from indigenous people, museums and historical side sites should promote not only the historical values but also the aesthetic values of it. Enhancing the awareness of people by showing them the beautiful side of these landscapes can encourage citizens to visit regularly. Furthermore, the free entrance should be offered to people living in the neighborhood where the museums and monuments are located. This approach seems to have a humble effect; however, it conveys a message to local dwellers about how important they are to the existence of such places.

In conclusion, historical areas and museums can be uninteresting for local citizens because they can be too familiar with the culture that these places depict. To better this, by giving more fascinating aspects of the sites and proving the concern about the locals' role can make the situation better.