Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are principally developed to preserve the history, arts and culture of a society. Therefore, charging money to visit in museum certainly aid with fund raising and avoiding chaotic situation in a certain time, however, demotivation in visiting and hamper in learning culture are primary disadvantageous results. While there are both the advantages and disadvantages associated with charging, I entirely believe that merits take precedence over the demerits.

Fund raising is the definite advantages of admission fee in museum among other multitudinous benefits. To delve into this, the collection received from fee are used for the development of the museum, which in the long run bring positive atmosphere in the site. Ticket system to enter museum will control the crowd around the sites which is an added benefit. Only the interested individuals will go there to learn and to gain knowledge. A recent survey published in a journal stated that about 43% people will not visit museum in London if the fee increase who often visit for entertainment purpose.

However, the obvious disadvantage is it demotivate the visitors. Charging fee cause the learners to pay extra budget expenditure from their daily expenses that brings pressure among the students. So, they deprive from learning about the traditional, artistic view of their precursors. For instance, nearly half of students visit the national museum of Bangladesh freely which would not be same if admission fee started to apply. Despite this, these issue can easily addressed through providing scholarships to the learners and, thus, pose only a minor threat to the advantageous aspects.

In conclusion, admission fee for museum will eventually be beneficial as chaotic situation can be controlled and development progression of museum can be undertaken which outweigh the demerit students financial difficulties, that after properly addressed.