Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world, visiting historical spots is getting ubiquitous and becoming a trend for the citizens, including going to the museums. However, there has been a protracted debate whether the visitors should be charged entrance fee. From my point of view, I am of the opinion that the pros are more significant than the cons.

Admittedly, charging people for museum entrance can bring disincentives to their visiting. As not everyone is intrigued with going into the museum, the free ticket will encourage them to pay a visit and the love for historical things can grow on them after that. However, if people see the price they have to pay, they will be more likely to go to other different places rather than the museum. In the long run, the museum will gradually lose its place in the city and the values of history or tradition will soon go into blur.

Nevertheless, there are a myriad of charging people when they come to the museums. The first thing to notice is that it will provide finance for the preservation and management of the infrastructures and artefacts in the museums. As the money required for maintenance and running this place can be astronomical, the fee from visitors can put the financial strains off the museum’s budget, thus fostering better quality of the site. Moreover, the tourists can have a better understanding and appreciation of the value of museums if they pay the money. If going to the museum is free of charge, people will pour into it without any consideration and it will lead to disarray. By contrast, when the money is taken, people will spend quality time to enjoy the work of art, the artefacts and the like. As a result, they will put more emphasis on the meaning of the museum.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of charging the museum entrance fee, I am convinced that the advantages are more vital as it supports the museum budget for the preservation and underpin people’s awareness of the value of the museum itself.