Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of visitors come to museums is obviously decrease than the people who go to theme parks. Most of the museums are facing difficulties in the income and thus charging the more entrance fees than zoos/playgrounds. I personally disagree with the view that the public need to pay the fee to tour around in the museums.

Those in favour of the view that museums should charge for admission present a number of points to support their idea. By the human nature, if people get free for something, they so not pay attention on it. Museums are carrying the historical/cultural context and citizens should keep the biography of their ancestors. Money is the primary factor to run everything and if the museums do not charge the entry fee, they will be closed in very short time.

However, whose oppose the above idea have their respective points as well. Today in busy life, people do not prefer to waste their time on unnecessary things. Technology is developed and we can know easily what we want from sitting at home through screens. The museums do not engage the professions from related fields and no one in museums cannot explain more briefly than internet. By my experience, I went to Yangon National Museum with my Vietnamese friend and the staffs gave recorders what can explain the displays in the museum. There were more charges for the devices fee. The explanation from the gadget was very boring and after the tour, I decided not to go again to any kind of museums in my life.

To sum up, the rate of visitors is very few for museums and if the museum charges admission fees, people will not happy to waste their time in museums. Thus, disadvantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the advantages.