Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

With the hectic pace of life, more and more people are absorbed in tons of work to earn a living. This essay will outline some reasons behind this situation and the problems associated.

Many workforces have increased movement of spending over their working hours for some reasons. To start off, the rising costs of living such as accommodation and food are making individuals do multiple jobs and work longer hours than before in order to earn more money. As a result, it helps them to make ends meet. In addition, today there are hubs of various jobs in big cities, which promise more career choices and significantly high wages for workers. Following that, the recruiters will also require highly qualified candidates who can adapt to new workplace flexibility, which results in the other will not get a job, thereby leading to a fiercely competitive job market for the youth. Consequently, individuals have to sacrifice more time to enhance their personal improvement. For instance, sales executives often work more than standard hours to achieve the monthly targets set by their management.

An increase in the time of working perhaps makes employees take some adverse effects. Firstly, this may have a negative impact on their health. Because of spending more time keeping pace with the heavy workloads, they may not have enough time to take care of themselves, and also enjoy their life. Even worst, if they work in unfavorable conditions for a long time, they can be frustrated and disappointed in their career prospects, thus are more at risk of enduring mental health problems, such as long-lasting stress, and depression. Furthermore, working overtime makes them less enjoy great moments with their families. As a result, the family ties are not strong and close-unit as members are getting further and further apart from each other. This will affect both self-developed and the growth of society.

In conclusion, the pressure of life and the harsh job market are two main reasons to distribute an increasing trend in working overtime these days. Therefore, despite getting more wealth, people lost health and family happiness.