Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

In many parts of the world, having extra hours in workplaces becomes a viral trend among the masses, which will benefit the economy. Conversely, a school of thought holds a belief that this trend can cause many serious troubles to each society and decrease the living standard of ordinary dwellers. Working can bring more promotional opportunities to people, ensure high-paid jobs and enjoy their majors.

On the one hand, teenagers tend to have more extra workload because this can be an easy way to get promotions in their workplaces where hard-working was considered as a determinant factor. Having more responsibilities, workers may not only utilize them to cultivate their relevant-job skills and their expertise but also show their willingness to employers who can lift them out of the entry-level jobs. However, this trend will create the deterioration of family time when workers lack time to play or interact with family members, which decreases their living standards.

On the other hand, high-paid jobs entail a host of strenuous working hours, workers who want to achieve may devote their spare time to have them. To be more specific, employees have scores of private demands, ranging from buying new clothes to granting expensive tuition fees for their children studying at prestigious schools, which can be a motivation to work more extra hours. Therefore, employees may not have enough time to unwind stress and relax, which can cause many common mental illnesses in this day and age.

Finally, a host of employees enjoy working with their dream jobs which can be considered as their means of life, which creates characters and identities of them. Living with passion and industriousness is the best way to undergo and surpass many challenges in life, bringing to workers not only an abundant budget but also a sense of pleasure when they feel their devotion is valuable to the development of the world. And these reasons will drain the time and health of workers if they pursuit far-fetched ideas which cannot be achieved by themselves.

In conclusion, getting promotions, landing well-paid jobs and enjoying passion are three justifications for the increase of working overtime in many countries. Hence, the government should play a tremendous role in balancing the time between working and relaxing by enacting several policies, limiting extra hours, as well as reducing the detrimental effects of overworking.