In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent years have witnessed an upward trend in the average age of populations in many nations. Some individuals hold the view that this trend toward aging impact detrimentally to the authorities. From my perspective, I strongly believe that the benefits of this development pale in comparison to the potential drawbacks that the states could suffer from.

On the one hand, there are some eminent advantages which the community might derive from the considerable rise of the elderly, chief of which is the longer lifespan. As a matter of fact, the senior citizens could received government's allocation to medical healthcare, pension as well as proper housing or food. Therefore, a vast majority of the elder would have better living standard, which help them avoid to a wide range of illnesses that often occur in the older age group such as cancer or respiratory diseases. Additionally, thanks to the financial packages provided by the policy-makers to modify some public sites for senior residents like parks, roads, houses, there could be fewer accidents and a broaden understanding of public safety risks.

On the other hand, I lean toward the opinion that the dramatic jump of the number of elderly might pose financial burdens to the authorities. As a matter of fact, the governments in many countries have to give away a noticeable amount of fund for the perpetuation of old generations' health. While the seniors could enjoy the benefits deriving from that allocations, other aspects that contribute significantly to the development of the nation might not be given sufficient investment. By way of illustration, by giving a large proportion of national bank for health services or modifying the public construction for old people, the governments can have difficulties in raising funds for education. This effects deleteriously to the standard of educational providers. Therefore, part of the students would not have access to the comprehensive and professional courses at school, which may ruin their scholastic targets. In other words, the future of that nation will be put at risk as children determine crucially to the prospection in the following years.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are several advantages of the aging population in many countries. Nevertheless, I lean toward the opinion that this trend might link to a variety of hardship for the governments.