Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, using smartphones in spare time has gained widespread popularity among a majority of residents across the globe. While this trend is attributable to various justifications, I firmly believe that this development affects detrimentally to the social well-being.

On the one hand, the trend towards utilizing smart digital devices in free time is ascribed to a wide range of causes, the most common of them lies in its convenience. As a matter of fact, before the appearance of mobile phones, people were accustomed to go outside and communicate with their friends rather than stay at home and use their smartphones to get in touch with everyone in the social media. Thanks to the useful features of phones, individuals just have to stay at their own houses, open the apps such as Facebook or Instagram to come into contact with a huge number of virtual friends, even someone that they have not talked face-to-face before. For example, after the invention of Mark Zuckerberg about the social media named Facebook, more people, especially the youth, have opportunities to make friends with other Facebook users, which has bridged the gap between citizens of every continents worldwide simply because it is not necessary to travel a long distance in order to meet their new friends.

On the other hand, I wholeheartedly approve that this trend might have deleterious impacts on the health of people overusing those kind of smart devices. From a scientific perspective, the prolonged exposure to smartphones can cause health deterioration in the ways that overshadow the phone users. As a result, spending a large part of their spare time chatting with their virtual friends instead of doing outdoor activities might lead to health deterioration. By way of illustration, the number of individuals wasting their time using Facebook in break time in a large number of nations are rising at an alarming rate, and several statistics indicate that recent years have witnessed a significant increase in the number of people suffering from obesity or myopia. Consequently, this could result in the worsened community health, especially for the young generations, who spend an average of 5 hours using the smartphones.

In conclusion, there are some explanation behind the greater role of smartphones in free time in modern life. Nevertheless, I lean towards the opinion that this is a disadvantageous development.