Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that governments should take charge of scientific research instead of private corporations. I would disagree with this statement and in this essay, I will support my opinion by relevant examples.

On the one hand, governments can not fully concentrate on scientific research as the fact that they have so many things to worry about and take care of such as education and healthcare. What I mean is that this may lead to the delay of upcoming discoveries, which results in the slow growth and development of the country. Therefore, scientific investigation should be managed by companies as they can invest more effectively with specialized knowledge and professional technology. Many corporations make profit from this field, so of course they would be more focus on render good research results.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of letting the companies carried out scientific research. That is to say, many of them are profit oriented and they just think about how to earn as much money as they can. For example, many people who are suffering from disease cannot afford to buy drugs as their prices are raised alarmingly. What’s more, some organizations also do illegal research of nuclear weapons, which would threaten to the peace of the world. Thus, it is the responsibility of the government to manage this kind of situation.

To sum up, I would restate that although private companies should be allowed to do scientific research as it may help to progress the country, the research must be supervised by the governments in order to provide high-quality and reliable results.